The Landscape Research Group is a global community of interest in landscape and the ways we shape, and are shaped by, the places we live.

Photo credit: © Sarah McCarthy

Who we are

The Landscape Research Group is a global community of interest. Our staff, Board of Directors, members and partners represent a broad range of disciplines: geographers, planners, landscape architects, archaeologists and ecologists, to list but a few. This diversity is fundamental to a holistic understanding of landscape – its evolution and its future.

Membership is open to anyone who has an interest in landscape and the ways we shape, and are shaped by, the places in which we live. Read more about us.


Staff team

Staff vacancies will be posted here. Sign up to receive alerts of new vacancies.

David Saunders

Chief Executive & Company Secretary
East Sussex, UK

david.saunders@landscaperesearch.org

Sarah Hobbs

Membership & Communications Manager
Highlands, UK

sarah.hobbs@landscaperesearch.org

Crista Walshaw

Landscape Research editorial assistant
Department of Landscape, University of Sheffield, UK

journal@landscaperesearch.org


Board of Directors

Our Board are a very diverse, active and personable group of people, with different backgrounds, interests and expertise.

We welcome expressions of interest for new Directors at any time. If you’re interested in the work of LRG and helping develop its activities and strategic direction, please do contact our Chair in the first instance (contact details below).

Dr Chris Dalglish

Chair

Director of Inherit (the Institute for Heritage & Sustainable Human Development)

chris@landscaperesearch.org

Paul Tabbush

Vice-Chair and Honorary Treasurer

Lately Head of Social and Economic Research Forest Research, Alice Holt Research Station, UK

paul@landscaperesearch.org

Associate Professor Emma Waterton

Landscape Research journal editor

Institute for Culture and Society, Western Sydney University, Australia

e.waterton@westernsydney.edu.au

Professor Laurence le Du-Blayo

Community Development Coordinator

Département de Géographie – UFR Sciences Scoailes, Université de Rennes 2, France

laurence.ledu@univ.rennes2.fr

Professor Hannes Palang

Research and Policy Coordinator

Centre for Landscape and Culture, Estonian Institute of Humanities, Tallinn University, Estonia

palang@tlu.ee

Professor Vanesa Castan Broto

UCL Institute for Global Prosperity, Faculty of the Built Environment & Urban Institute, University of Sheffield, UK

Professor Tim Collins

Artist, researcher, educator, UK 

timothymartincollins@googlemail.com

Marouen Hedhlie

Architect and Building Information Modelling (BIM) Coordinator, Tunisia

Professor Anna Jorgensen

Department of Landscape, University of Sheffield, UK

a.jorgensen@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Markus Leibenath

Senior Researcher, Leibniz Institute of Ecological Urban and Regional Development, Dresden (Germany)

m.leibenath@ioer.de

Professor Kenneth Olwig

Department of Landscape Architecture, SLU, Alnarp, Sweden

Kenneth.Olwig@slu.se

Maggie Roe

School of Architecture, Planning & Landscape, Newcastle University, UK

M.H.Roe@newcastle.ac.uk

Ingrid Sarlöv Herlin

Professor of Landscape Planning, SLU – Swedish University of Agriculture Sciences, Sweden

Share this page

More in this section

About us

We work to advance interdisciplinary landscape research through dissemination, communication and exchange across global communities of interest.
Read More

Governance

As a registered charity* and a limited company** under the UK Companies Acts, LRG is governed by Articles and a Memorandum of Association.
Read More