The Landscape Research Group is a global community of interest in landscape and the ways we shape, and are shaped by, the places we live.

Photo credit: © Sarah McCarthy

Who we are

The Landscape Research Group is a global community of interest. Our staff, Board of Trustees, members and partners represent a broad range of disciplines: geographers, planners, landscape architects, archaeologists and ecologists, to list but a few. This diversity is fundamental to a holistic understanding of landscape – its evolution and its future.

Membership is open to anyone who has an interest in landscape and the ways we shape, and are shaped by, the places in which we live. Read more about us.


Staff team

Staff vacancies will be posted here. Sign up to receive alerts of new vacancies.

David Saunders

Chief Executive & Company Secretary
East Sussex, UK

david.saunders@landscaperesearch.org

Sarah Hobbs

Membership & Communications Manager
Highlands, UK

sarah.hobbs@landscaperesearch.org

Crista Walshaw

Landscape Research journal editorial assistant
School for Social Sciences and Psychology, Western Sydney University, Australia

journal@landscaperesearch.org


Board of Trustees

Our Trustees are an active and personable group of people, with different backgrounds, interests and expertise.

We welcome expressions of interest for new Trustees at any time. If you’re interested in the work of LRG and helping develop its activities and strategic direction, please do contact our Chair in the first instance (contact details below).

Dr Tim Waterman

Chair

Associate Professor in Landscape Architecture, the Bartlett School of Architecture, UCL, UK

tim.waterman@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Chris Dalglish

Vice-Chair

Director of Inherit (the Institute for Heritage & Sustainable Human Development)

chris@landscaperesearch.org

Dr Gavin MacGregor

Treasurer

Archaeologist and environmentalist researcher, artist and activist, Hamilton, Scotland

Professor Emma Waterton

Landscape Research journal editor-in-chief

Institute for Culture and Society, Western Sydney University, Australia

e.waterton@westernsydney.edu.au

Dr Markus Leibenath

Community Development Coordinator

Senior Researcher, Leibniz Institute of Ecological Urban and Regional Development, Dresden (Germany)

m.leibenath@ioer.de

Professor Hannes Palang

Research and Policy Coordinator

Centre for Landscape and Culture, Estonian Institute of Humanities, Tallinn University, Estonia

palang@tlu.ee

Professor Vanesa Castan Broto

UCL Institute for Global Prosperity, Faculty of the Built Environment & Urban Institute, University of Sheffield, UK

Professor Laurence le Du-Blayo

Département de Géographie – UFR Sciences Scoailes, Université de Rennes 2, France

laurence.ledu@univ-rennes2.fr

Marouen Hedhlie

Architect and Building Information Modelling (BIM) Coordinator, Tunisia

Dr Ian Mell

Researcher & lecturer, Department of Planning & Environmental Management, University of Manchester, UK

ian.mell@manchester.ac.uk

Professor Kenneth Olwig

Department of Landscape Architecture, SLU, Alnarp, Sweden

Kenneth.Olwig@slu.se

Professor Ingrid Sarlöv Herlin

Professor of Landscape Planning, SLU – Swedish University of Agriculture Sciences, Sweden

Paul Tabbush

Lately Head of Social and Economic Research Forest Research, Alice Holt Research Station, UK

paul@landscaperesearch.org

Share this page

More in this section

About us

We work to advance interdisciplinary landscape research through dissemination, communication and exchange across global communities of interest.
Read More

Governance

As a registered charity* and a limited company** under the UK Companies Acts, LRG is governed by Articles and a Memorandum of Association.
Read More